The construction of the church of Saint Ignatius of Loyola was started in 1626 by Pope Gregory XV and finally completed in 1650. The site originally belonged to the Collegio Romano which was moved because it was over crowded and needed more space. The church is based on a latin cross design with one nave, numerous side chapels and a fake cupola. The illusionary dome is often referred to as a quadratura and was painted by Andrea Pozzo who also created the breathtaking fresco that stretches across the nave ceiling.
Rome - Sant'Ignazio di Loyola Larger Photos Back to Photo Index Page
Firefox This site has been cobbled together by Simon O'Callaghan
Contact Information: Simon O'Callaghan
All content is Copyright © 2000-2018
Hosted by ApisNetwork